Scrum Alliance has below certification program

  1. Certified Scrum Master (CSM) – Training mandatory and Exam has 35 questions to write in 90 days
  2. Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO) – Only training and no exam
  3. Certified Scrum Developer (CSD) – Only training and no exam
  4. Certified Scrum Professional (CSP) – No training, No exam and Only Money
  5. Certified Agile Leaderships (CAL – I) – Only training and no exam has below training program

  1. Professional Scrum Foundation (PSF) – Student will get opportunity to write PSM – I as part of training
  2. Professional Scrum Master (PSM) – Student will get opportunity to write PSM – I as well as PSM – II
  3. Professional Scrum Product Owner (PSPO) – Student will get opportunity to write PSPO – I and II
  4. Professional Scrum Developer (PSD) – Student will get opportunity to write PSD – I
  5. Scaled Professional Scrum (SPS) – Student will get opportunity to write SPS
  6. Professional Agile Leaderships – Essential (PAL – E) – No certification for this program and only training

Difference Between Scrum Alliance and Scrum.Org

Below is basic comparison covering difference in approach for Scrum Alliance and I have added only PSM vs CSM but rest all certifications are same.

Program Name Professional Scrum Master (PSM) Certified Scrum Master (CSM)
Certifying Authority Scrum Alliance
Training Provider Professional Scrum Trainer (PST) Certified Scrum Trainer (CST)
Founded By Ken Schwaber Ken Schwaber
When 2009 2002
Mission Improving the Profession of Software Delivery Transforming the World of Work
Duration 2 days 2 days
Examination 80 Questions in 60 Mins 35 Questions. No time limit
Difficulty Level High Very Low
Training is Mandatory No Yes
Content Maintained by Scrum.Org Maintained by CSTs Individually
Source for Exam Scrum Guide Not Sure
Renewal No $100 every 2 years
Batch Size No more than 30 students per class More than 60 and sometime 100 (especially in India)
Acceptability Very High Very High
Valuable Some organizations only hire PSM holders for Scrum Master role Although it was introduced for Scrum Master but became Scrum Introduction class over the period
Next Level There is PSM II training but you can write 3 level of assessment – PSM – I, II, III even after attending PSM Since CSM became Introduction training so Scrum Alliance has launched Advance – CSM
Popularity Popular Popular’s Certification Programs has kept certification and training separate. Training is not mandatory for any of certification. offers below certifications.

  1. Professional Scrum Master – I, II, III (to test your maturity level)
  2. Professional Scrum Product Owner – I, II (to test your maturity level)
  3. Professional Scrum Developer – I (to test your maturity level)
  4. Scaled Professional Scrum
Author's Bio

Businesses transform when they realize that the current ways of working can no longer address the fast-changing market dynamics and rising user expectations. Agilemania, a small group of passionate Lean-Agile-DevOps consultants and trainers, is the most trusted brand for digital transformations in South and South-East Asia.